Savvy Blog

Donald Price

Donald Price, a senior at McClellan Magnet High School, won first place in the Thea Foundation’s second annual Poetry Slam Scholarship Competition. He was awarded a $3,000 scholarship.

The competition, which was held on Feb. 23, is for high school seniors. Contestants were required to perform original poems from memory in each of three rounds, as well as demonstrate proficiency in poetry and its artistic delivery.

A second-place, $2,000 scholarship went to Julia Pistole of Clinton High School. Honorable Mentions were Nickolas Brooks of Wilbur D. Mills High School, Stanley Lewis of Harmony Grove High School and Devyn Mitchell of North Little Rock High School.

Fayetteville’s former poet laureate Clayton Scott emceed the event. Judges included Lisa Bailey, Ericka Benedicto, Kita “Krysis” Marshall, Leron McAdoo and Amoja “Mo Man” Sumler.

Erica Sweeney is thrilled to be editor of Savvy Kids. She has been a regular contributor to the magazine and loves sharing information with the families of central Arkansas.
See all posts by Erica